OmmWriter: You Had Me At Hello

by Lindsay Satterfield

In our multi-functional, there’s-an-app-for-that world, where your iPhone can practically make dinner for you and help you meditate, OmmWriter stands out in its bold simplicity – in its counter-culture, unapologetic single-mindedness. OmmWriter is about one thing and one thing only:  writing.

OmmWriter is a text editing program that may just surprise you with it’s alluring ability to bring pleasure back to something you may have blocks about, or dread, or feel  you just don’t have time for. And it may wow you with the uncanny and understated way it carves out a creative oasis to compose your thoughts – whether in a plane, a train, a Starbucks, a cube, or a busy day.

Instead of a thousand bells and whistles, it has just a few – just enough to create a productive ambiance without becoming distracting or the center of attention. The spotlight is on writing. Everything in its design is there to support your ability to focus and put your thoughts on the page. I bumped into OmmWriter on a blog post by Leo Babauta, author of the blog Zen Habits.  He mentioned it in passing. And in my part-curious, part-distracted way, I clicked on the link. Intrigued, I watched this video (Click here to view on separate (read: bigger) screen.)

And, honestly, I still didn’t get it entirely. But I was captivated.   And so, I downloaded the free software, and took it for a test drive. Then, I understood what all those gushing testimonials were about.

OmmWriter clears the deck of your computer screen of all those competing windows, and tabs, and buttons and noisy email notifications with a choice of a few backgrounds. The backgrounds become a visually pleasing and calming backdrop for the main feature: your words. A  few soundscape options build an invisible soundstage, creating a gentle barrier to the outside distractions, mayhem, and general busy-ness that can pull focus. There are a few choices for the sound of the typing itself, which, surprisingly, sets up a kind of pleasurable feedback loop while you write. More writing, more of that cool sound.

This video gives you a little more about the genesis and purpose of OmmWriter,  (Click here to open separate screen):

OmmWriter confirms what I see again and again with my clients and me: an environment of beauty and simplicity promotes focus and productivity.  Of course, this tool is great if writing is your main gig or hobby.  It’s also perfect for anyone that  has to string a few sentences together from time to time.  

Use it to compose that email that has to be concise, while addressing a complicated or senstive subject. Or for that paper.  Or for brainstrorming. Or for journaling. Or for making lists.  Or for your blog post.  Or for the simple fun of writing. 

And good news: they just came out with a version for all us Windows PC users. I have it pinned to my task bar and any time I’m going to write more than a few words, I enter the refreshing world of OmmWriter with one click. You can save your documents as text files. I just copy and paste into whatever medium they need to land in – such as Outlook email or Word.

Never mind what I say. Ultimately, the only way to truly get what the fuss is about is to download OmmWriter and give it a whirl.

4 responses to “OmmWriter: You Had Me At Hello

  1. LOVE it. I will be using to help me finish writing my book on Slow Home by Design! YES, thanks for the introduction

    • Fantastic! I think it will create a perfect environment for your book – a lovely, “slow home” for writing! And given your love of all things beautiful, I think this tool is right up your alley. Happy writing! Happy book!

  2. Thanks again for this. I just got a draft blog post done. Love it. “When the time is right…” You rock.

    • Jon, so glad you’re loving Ommwriter. I’m still kind of amazed just how much I love this thing that is so simple. (Maybe that’s a clue). Ever since I downloaded it, I keep looking for more opportunities to use it. Hope this tool continues to support your writing in wonderful ways. And yes, I believe in the “when the time is right…” thing.

Leave a Reply

